August 29, 2017 / Modified oct 16, 2017 2:23 p.m.

Arizona Public Media Garners 27 Individual Emmy® Nominations

Including nomination for the coveted Overall Excellence Award

AZPM Emmy Collection hero AZPM is proud to be recognized by the Rocky Mountain Southwest Chapter of the National Academy of Television Arts and Sciences. (PHOTO: AZPM Staff)

TUCSON, AZ – August 29, 2017 – Arizona Public Media (AZPM) received a total of twenty-seven individual Emmy Awards nominations for thirteen productions in ten categories, as announced by the Rocky Mountain Chapter of the National Academy of Television Arts and Sciences (NATAS).

“Our goal is to provide content and tell stories that enrich the lives of our audience,” said Jack Gibson, AZPM General Manager. “To receive recognition from industry peers for the quality of that work is an added bonus.”

AZPM Emmy Nominations

Arts/Entertainment – Program Feature-Segment
Forming the Formless
Mark McLemore
Sandra Westdahl

New Downtown Murals
Andrew Brown
Sandra Westdahl

Restoring DeGrazia
Andrew Brown

Education/Schools – News Single Story/Series/Feature
The Growing Class
Tony Paniagua

Human Interest – Program Feature/Segment
Dick Tuck
Andrew Brown
Sandra Westdahl

Societal Concerns – Program Feature/Segment/Program Special
Camp Bravo
Mitchell Riley
Sandra Westdahl
Cody Sheehy

Oliver's Journey
Gisela Telis
Nathan Huffman

Technology – News Single Story/Series/Feature/Program Feature/Segment / Program/Special
OSIRIS REx: Countdown to Launch
Thomas Kleespie
Sara Hammond
Nathan Huffman
Robert Lindberg

Michelle's Story
Thomas Kleespie
Robert Lindberg
Steve Bayless

Public/Current/Community Affairs – Feature/Segment /Program Special/Series
Winter Shelter
Mitchell Riley
Sandra Westdahl

Special Event Coverage (other than News or Sports) Live or Edited
Community Interactive: Stories from the Border
John Booth
Michael Chihak
Nancy Montoya

Editor-Program (Non-News)
Camp Bravo
Mitchell Riley

Overall Excellence
Arizona Public Media

About AZPM

AZPM is an Emmy® award-winning, member-supported media organization that serves all of Southern Arizona with three public television channels and three radio stations, including PBS 6, PBS Kids and NPR 89.1. Producing original, local content from its digital studios on the campus of the University of Arizona, AZPM is provided as a community service and educational resource. More information about AZPM, including program schedules and Video-on-Demand offerings, can be found online at

Arizona Public Media® and AZPM® are registered trademarks of the Arizona Board of Regents.

By posting comments, you agree to our
AZPM encourages comments, but comments that contain profanity, unrelated information, threats, libel, defamatory statements, obscenities, pornography or that violate the law are not allowed. Comments that promote commercial products or services are not allowed. Comments in violation of this policy will be removed. Continued posting of comments that violate this policy will result in the commenter being banned from the site.

By submitting your comments, you hereby give AZPM the right to post your comments and potentially use them in any other form of media operated by this institution.
Arizona Public Media broadcast stations are licensed to the Arizona Board of Regents. Arizona Public Media and AZPM are registered trademarks of the Arizona Board of Regents.
The University of Arizona