October 16, 2017 / Modified oct 16, 2017 11:30 a.m.

Arizona Public Media Honored With Eight Individual Emmy® Awards

The Rocky Mountain Chapter of NATAS recognized the winners at October 14 ceremony

emmy closeup hero AZPM station Emmy® Awards
Malcolm Critcher

Arizona Public Media won eight individual Emmy® Awards in four categories at the 2017 annual gala hosted by the Rocky Mountain Chapter of the National Academy of Television Arts and Sciences (NATAS).

AZPM Emmy® Winners

Arts/Entertainment - Program Feature - Segment
Restoring DeGrazia
Andrew Brown, Producer/Editor

Societal Concerns – Program Feature/Segment/Program Special
Camp Bravo
Mitchell Riley, Producer
Sandra Westdahl, Photographer
Cody Sheehy, Photographer

Michelle's Story
Thomas Kleespie, Producer/Writer/Director
Robert Lindberg, Photographer
Steve Bayless, Editor

Documentary – Topical
Beyond the Mirage
University of Arizona CALS in partnership with Arizona Public Media
Cody Sheehy, Producer


This year Arizona Public Media garnered 27 individual Emmy® nominations, including the coveted Overall Excellence Award. Congratulations to the nominees.

AZPM Emmy® Nominations

Arts/Entertainment – Program Feature-Segment
Forming the Formless
Mark McLemore
Sandra Westdahl

New Downtown Murals
Andrew Brown
Sandra Westdahl

Education/Schools – News Single Story/Series/Feature
The Growing Class
Tony Paniagua

Human Interest – Program Feature/Segment
Dick Tuck
Andrew Brown
Sandra Westdahl

Societal Concerns – Program Feature/Segment/Program Special
Oliver's Journey
Gisela Telis
Nathan Huffman

Technology – News Single Story/Series/Feature/Program Feature/Segment/Program/Special
OSIRIS REx: Countdown to Launch
Thomas Kleespie
Sara Hammond
Nathan Huffman
Robert Lindberg

Public/Current/Community Affairs – Feature/Segment /Program Special/Series
Winter Shelter
Mitchell Riley
Sandra Westdahl

Special Event Coverage (other than News or Sports) Live or Edited
Community Interactive: Stories from the Border
John Booth
Michael Chihak
Nancy Montoya

Editor-Program (Non-News)
Camp Bravo
Mitchell Riley

Overall Excellence
Arizona Public Media

About AZPM

AZPM is an Emmy® award-winning, member-supported media organization that serves all of Southern Arizona with three public television channels and three radio stations, including PBS 6, PBS Kids and NPR 89.1. Producing original, local content from its digital studios on the campus of the University of Arizona, AZPM is provided as a community service and educational resource. More information about AZPM, including program schedules and Video-on-Demand offerings, can be found online at azpm.org.

Arizona Public Media® and AZPM® are registered trademarks of the Arizona Board of Regents.

By posting comments, you agree to our
AZPM encourages comments, but comments that contain profanity, unrelated information, threats, libel, defamatory statements, obscenities, pornography or that violate the law are not allowed. Comments that promote commercial products or services are not allowed. Comments in violation of this policy will be removed. Continued posting of comments that violate this policy will result in the commenter being banned from the site.

By submitting your comments, you hereby give AZPM the right to post your comments and potentially use them in any other form of media operated by this institution.
AZPM is a service of the University of Arizona and our broadcast stations are licensed to the Arizona Board of Regents who hold the trademarks for Arizona Public Media and AZPM. We respectfully acknowledge the University of Arizona is on the land and territories of Indigenous peoples.
The University of Arizona