September 25, 2018 / Modified sep 25, 2018 11:40 a.m.

Arizona Public Media Honored with 12 Emmys® at Rocky Mountain Chapter Award Ceremony

AZPM was more awarded than any station in Tucson and any public broadcaster in the region.

emmy statuette hero AZPM is proud to be recognized by the National Academy of Television Arts and Sciences.
Malcolm Critcher

Arizona Public Media staff received 12 individual Emmys® for five projects in five categories at the 2018 Rocky Mountain Southwest Chapter of the National Academy of Television Arts and Sciences (NATAS) Emmy Awards® Ceremony in Phoenix on September 22.

AZPM staff earned more awards than any other station in Tucson and more than any other public broadcaster in the Rocky Mountain region, which includes Arizona, New Mexico, Utah, Wyoming and El Centro, Calif. 

“I am honored to work with such a talented group of producers, videographers, and editors who are passionate about the stories they tell,” said Jack Gibson, AZPM Chief Executive Officer. “They continue to set a higher bar with respect to the quality and attention to detail that is the hallmark of AZPM’s original programming.”

In August, AZPM staff received 34 individual nominations for 17 projects across 14 categories, including overall excellence – which was also more than any other station in Tucson and more than any other public broadcaster in the Rocky Mountain region. 

The AZPM staff has been awarded 45 individual Emmys over the last four years, including the prestigious Governor’s Award for the 2016 original documentary, Passing On, and the Overall Excellence award in 2015. 

This year AZPM received Emmy Awards in the following categories:

Arts/Entertainment - Program Feature-Segment
Sandra Westdahl
Galen McCaw

Editor - Sports
Sandra Westdahl

Historic/Cultural-News Single Story/Series/Feature/Program Segment
Sandra Westdahl
Arlene Islas

Human Interest-Program Feature/Segment
The Full Nelson
Sandra Westdahl
Arlene Islas

Human Interest-Program Feature/Segment
The Preventionist
Gisela Telis
Robert Lindberg

Sports Feature Segment
Mitchell Riley
Sandra Westdahl
Andrew Brown

About AZPM
Arizona Public Media (AZPM) is an editorially independent, nonprofit public service of the University of Arizona (UA) and provides three television program services (PBS 6PBS 6 Plus, and PBS Kids), three radio services (NPR 89.1Classical 90.5, and the BBC World Service) and a variety of online program offerings at AZPM is funded through the generous support of annual and sustaining members, the business community through program underwriting, fee-for-service production activities, the Corporation for Public Broadcasting, and direct and in-kind support from UA.

Arizona Public Media® and AZPM® are registered trademarks of the Arizona Board of Regents, which holds the FCC broadcast licenses for all AZPM stations, for the benefit of the University of Arizona. More information about AZPM, including program schedules and Video-on-Demand offerings, can be found online at

By posting comments, you agree to our
AZPM encourages comments, but comments that contain profanity, unrelated information, threats, libel, defamatory statements, obscenities, pornography or that violate the law are not allowed. Comments that promote commercial products or services are not allowed. Comments in violation of this policy will be removed. Continued posting of comments that violate this policy will result in the commenter being banned from the site.

By submitting your comments, you hereby give AZPM the right to post your comments and potentially use them in any other form of media operated by this institution.
AZPM is a service of the University of Arizona and our broadcast stations are licensed to the Arizona Board of Regents who hold the trademarks for Arizona Public Media and AZPM. We respectfully acknowledge the University of Arizona is on the land and territories of Indigenous peoples.
The University of Arizona