November 6, 2023 / Modified nov 7, 2023 10:39 a.m.

AZPM Honored with Three Rocky Mountain Emmy® Awards

AZPM received five individual Emmy Awards for three projects in as many categories; the most projects of any public media broadcaster in the region.

The Rocky Mountain Southwest Chapter of the National Academy of Television Arts and Sciences (NATAS) honored AZPM among the regional Emmy Award winners at a gala event in Phoenix over the weekend. Staff received five individual Emmys for the following projects:



Cáit NíSíomón, Producer
Nathan Huffman, Editor

AZ ILL Rio segment thumb
Nate Huffman


Comic Book Chemistry

Bryan Nelson, Producer/Editor/Videographer
John DeSoto, Videographer/Editor

AZ ILL comic book chemistry segment thumb


Favorite Places: San Rafael Valley

David Fenster, Videographer

AZ ILL San Rafael Valley segment thumb

AZPM Arts and Culture producer Özlem Ayse Özgür also received an Emmy for her project Lemurs on the Verge, which she directed for University of Arizona Landmark Stories.

“I am extremely proud of our talented team and their commitment to telling the unique stories of our region,” said Jack Gibson, AZPM Chief Executive Officer. “To receive continued recognition from our peers in the National Academy of Television Arts and Sciences is a great honor.”

AZPM was nominated for 15 Emmys for 14 projects across 11 categories, the most of any public media broadcaster in the region. Winners were recognized during a ceremony on November 4 at the Chateau Luxe in Phoenix. For a complete list of winners in the Rocky Mountain Southwest Chapter, which includes Arizona, New Mexico, Utah, Wyoming, and El Centro, California go to

About AZPM
Arizona Public Media (AZPM) is an editorially independent, nonprofit community service of the University of Arizona and provides three television program services (PBS 6, PBS 6 Plus, and PBS Kids), four radio services (NPR 89.1, Classical 90.5, Jazz 89.1 HD2, and the BBC World Service) and a variety of online program offerings at

AZPM is funded through the generous support of annual and sustaining members, the business community through program underwriting, fee-for-service production activities, the Corporation for Public Broadcasting, and direct and in-kind support from the University of Arizona. Arizona Public Media® and AZPM® are registered trademarks of the Arizona Board of Regents, which holds the FCC broadcast licenses for all AZPM stations, for the benefit of the University of Arizona. More information about AZPM, including program schedules and Video-on-Demand offerings, can be found online at

By posting comments, you agree to our
AZPM encourages comments, but comments that contain profanity, unrelated information, threats, libel, defamatory statements, obscenities, pornography or that violate the law are not allowed. Comments that promote commercial products or services are not allowed. Comments in violation of this policy will be removed. Continued posting of comments that violate this policy will result in the commenter being banned from the site.

By submitting your comments, you hereby give AZPM the right to post your comments and potentially use them in any other form of media operated by this institution.
AZPM is a service of the University of Arizona and our broadcast stations are licensed to the Arizona Board of Regents who hold the trademarks for Arizona Public Media and AZPM. We respectfully acknowledge the University of Arizona is on the land and territories of Indigenous peoples.
The University of Arizona