August 16, 2023 / Modified aug 17, 2023 10:05 a.m.

Arizona Public Media Wins National Edward R. Murrow Award

Water Harvester: An Invitation to Abundance won in the category of News Documentary

The Radio Television Digital News Association (RTDNA) announced the national winners of the 2023 Edward R. Murrow Awards yesterday. More than 100 outlets were honored for their exceptional contributions in digital, radio, and television journalism.

Arizona Public Media received its third National Murrow Award in the category of Small Market Television News Documentary for Water Harvester: An Invitation to Abundance. Produced by David Fenster, the film explores how Tucson resident Brad Lancaster transformed his neighborhood by experimenting with water harvesting.

“Our team cares deeply about the community we serve. The stories we tell put the public interest above all else,” said Jack Gibson, AZPM CEO. “To be recognized for epitomizing the highest standards of journalistic excellence on a national stage is a tremendous honor.”

Since 1971, the prestigious Murrow Awards have embodied the values, principles, and ideals established by Edward R. Murrow, a journalism pioneer who set the standards for the highest quality of broadcast journalism.

"The Edward R. Murrow Awards serve as a testament to the unwavering dedication of journalists who illuminate the world with their stories,” said RTDNA President and CEO Dan Shelley. “These awards celebrate not just excellence, but the very essence of journalism that shapes our understanding of events and fosters a more informed society."

AZPM received its second National Murrow Award in 2019 in the feature reporting category for Where Dreams Die. The radio news documentary Divided by Law won a National Murrow Award in 2016. Since 2016, AZPM has been honored with 23 Regional Murrow Awards for news stories focused on issues specific to the southwest region.

See the full list of 2023 National Murrow Award winners here. The National Murrow Awards will be presented at the RTDNA Edward R. Murrow Awards Gala at Gotham Hall in New York City on October 9.

Since 1971, RTDNA has been honoring outstanding achievements in broadcast and digital journalism with the Edward R. Murrow Awards. Among the most prestigious in news, the Murrow Awards recognize local and national news stories that uphold the RTDNA Code of Ethics, demonstrate technical expertise, and exemplify the importance and impact of journalism as a service to the community. Murrow Award-winning work demonstrates the excellence that Edward R. Murrow made a standard for the broadcast news profession.

About AZPM
Arizona Public Media (AZPM) is an editorially independent, nonprofit community service of the University of Arizona and provides three television program services (PBS 6, PBS 6 Plus, and PBS Kids), four radio services (NPR 89.1, Classical 90.5, Jazz 89.1 HD2, and the BBC World Service) and a variety of online program offerings at

AZPM is funded through the generous support of annual and sustaining members, the business community through program underwriting, fee-for-service production activities, the Corporation for Public Broadcasting, and direct and in-kind support from the University of Arizona. Arizona Public Media® and AZPM® are registered trademarks of the Arizona Board of Regents, which holds the FCC broadcast licenses for all AZPM stations, for the benefit of the University of Arizona. More information about AZPM, including program schedules and Video-on-Demand offerings, can be found online at

By posting comments, you agree to our
AZPM encourages comments, but comments that contain profanity, unrelated information, threats, libel, defamatory statements, obscenities, pornography or that violate the law are not allowed. Comments that promote commercial products or services are not allowed. Comments in violation of this policy will be removed. Continued posting of comments that violate this policy will result in the commenter being banned from the site.

By submitting your comments, you hereby give AZPM the right to post your comments and potentially use them in any other form of media operated by this institution.
AZPM is a service of the University of Arizona and our broadcast stations are licensed to the Arizona Board of Regents who hold the trademarks for Arizona Public Media and AZPM. We respectfully acknowledge the University of Arizona is on the land and territories of Indigenous peoples.
The University of Arizona