October 3, 2022

Arizona Public Media honored with 10 individual Emmy® Awards

AZPM received 10 individual Emmy Awards for four projects across four categories

2022 Emmy thumbs Arizona Public Media staff received 10 individual regional Emmy​​® Awards for four projects across four categories. Clockwise from top: Mirrors for Magellan, TECHNOLOGY CONTENT; An Unequivocal Truth, WEATHER CONTENT; Footprints From the Past, HISTORICAL/CULTURAL SHORT-FORM CONTENT; We Are the Water Missing Home, NEWS SERIOUS FEATURE SINGLE REPORT.

Arizona Public Media staff received 10 individual regional Emmy​​® Awards for four projects across four categories, more than any other station in Tucson and any other public broadcaster in Arizona. The awards were announced at The Rocky Mountain Southwest Chapter of the National Academy of Television Arts and Sciences (NATAS) gala in Phoenix on Saturday.

“I am honored to work with the talented producers, videographers, and editors whose passion and commitment are evident in every story they tell,” said Jack Gibson, AZPM Chief Executive Officer. “But the greater honor is knowing their work gives voice to the people of Southern Arizona. My heartfelt thanks to the winners and nominees for maintaining the excellence that is Arizona Public Media’s hallmark.”

AZPM staff earned 39 individual nominations for 16 projects across 12 categories, more than any other public media broadcaster in the region. Notable this year was a program nomination for Arizona Illustrated, AZPM’s long-running newsmagazine, which airs Sundays at 6:30 p.m. on PBS 6.

The 2022 AZPM Emmy® winners are:

We Are the Water Missing Home
Andrew Brown
Alisa Reznick
Mya Long

Footprints From the Past
Bryan Nelson
John DeSoto

Mirrors for Magellan
Bryan Nelson
Robert Lindberg

An Unequivocal Truth
Bryan Nelson
Robert Lindberg
Mya Long

For a complete list of nominees in the Rocky Mountain Southwest Chapter, which includes Arizona, New Mexico, Utah, Wyoming, and El Centro, California go to rockymountainemmy.org.

About AZPM
Arizona Public Media (AZPM) is an editorially independent, nonprofit community service of the University of Arizona and provides three television program services (PBS 6, PBS 6 Plus, and PBS Kids), four radio services (NPR 89.1, Classical 90.5, Jazz 89.1 HD2, and the BBC World Service) and a variety of online program offerings at azpm.org. AZPM is funded through the generous support of annual and sustaining members, the business community through program underwriting, fee-for-service production activities, the Corporation for Public Broadcasting, and direct and in-kind support from the University of Arizona.

Arizona Public Media® and AZPM® are registered trademarks of the Arizona Board of Regents, which holds the FCC broadcast licenses for all AZPM stations, for the benefit of the University of Arizona. More information about AZPM, including program schedules and Video-on-Demand offerings, can be found online at azpm.org.

By posting comments, you agree to our
AZPM encourages comments, but comments that contain profanity, unrelated information, threats, libel, defamatory statements, obscenities, pornography or that violate the law are not allowed. Comments that promote commercial products or services are not allowed. Comments in violation of this policy will be removed. Continued posting of comments that violate this policy will result in the commenter being banned from the site.

By submitting your comments, you hereby give AZPM the right to post your comments and potentially use them in any other form of media operated by this institution.
AZPM is a service of the University of Arizona and our broadcast stations are licensed to the Arizona Board of Regents who hold the trademarks for Arizona Public Media and AZPM. We respectfully acknowledge the University of Arizona is on the land and territories of Indigenous peoples.
The University of Arizona